Borneo – the name itself has an exotic sound. The world’s 3rd largest Island which the greatest part belongs to Indonesia, but also shares the island with Malaysia and Brunei. Malaysia and little Brunei are located at the north part of Borneo. In Borneo there are two states that belong to Malaysia, it is Sabah at the north east side and Sarawak at the north west side.



The name of the largest town in Sarawak is Kuching (Kuching means cat in Bahasa Malaysia) and has about 380,000 citizens.
70% of the people in Kuching are Chinese.

Around an artificial lake there is a group of houses from the seven different people groups in Borneo.
Here you can find a typical Malayan house, a Chinese house, longhouses from Bidayuh and the Iban people, house from Penan-nomades,
Melanau, and Urang Ulu-people.
A longhouse is a kind of terrace-house with a shared veranda which follows the whole side. The whole village lives in the same house.
The house is split in different sections with a door facing the veranda and there is a room for each family.
Besides looking at houses and chatting with the village people, you can also try shooting a blow pipe, play spinning (a game with a “spinning top”) and watch dance shows.

Prev Langkawi
Next Bako National Park

Leave a comment